Self-disclosure - bipolar disorder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self-disclosure - bipolar disorder

I have an opportunity to self-disclose publicly about my bipolar disorder. I've been considering and thinking about this for five years and I'm currently studying the pros and cons (I've been stable for five years and am only getting better and better).

I am already in contact with people who have chosen that path, but I'd like to know if any of you have self-disclosed in the media and what were the impacts in your family and work lives.

Thanks.

Welcome to the forum PJane92. I have never been so brave as to talk to any media about it. I'm very selective about who I tell. I know others on this forum that have and will probably jump in.
    AJ

Humans punish themselves endlessly
    for not being what they believe they should be.
    -Don Miguel Ruiz-

Comment

Thank you for welcoming me. Thank you for the reply. By the way, I apologize for my poor grammar, English is not my first language. Thanks for sharing your experience. I totally understand how difficult this might be. I have to admit that I am somewhat scared even if I want to do it and that I have support to do so. I've been reflecting on HOW to do it for five years and it seems that the time has now come after five years of living with my diagnosis and being stable.

Looking forward to reading more from you on the forum,

PJ

Comment

Hello PJane92 and welcome. First your grammar is fine and better than mine and English is my only language. In regards to coming out. I don't work so coming out wasn't a problem. I did lose friends.

I often talk about my illness to educate others and I'm often asked for advice about how to help others. So coming out can have benefits.