Explaining without Disclosing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Explaining without Disclosing

I'm a DVM student and this year we have our junior surgeries. I've been exempted from night checks on my patients because my Zeldox is so sedating that I'd be impaired if I tried to fight it to do the checks, which obviously wouldn't be safe for my patients or for me. Now my struggle is to explain my exemption to my classmates without disclosing my diagnosis - I know it's going to be noticed, and I really don't want my classmates to know what it is I'm truly dealing with! This might turn out to be unrealistic, but I want to keep my diagnosis (BPI with mixed features and psychotic features) completely hidden from my professional life. I'm hoping to specialize, and while I'm treatment compliant and stable, I don't need that following me! I'm working on a script for how to tell them why I'm not doing night checks, but if anyone has tips for how to approach it I'd love to hear them!
    Pressure makes diamonds....

Personally I chose not to disclose my mental illness in my workplace. I was stable for many years, and when I did get sick and was required to be off work, it was difficult. People cared and wanted to know what was wrong. They had gotten to know me as a person, before they knew me as a person with a mental illness. I think it helped.
    AJ

Humans punish themselves endlessly
    for not being what they believe they should be.
    -Don Miguel Ruiz-

Comment

Exactly - I always feel like I need to prove myself first, so that if people find out about my diagnosis they'll already have an impression of me that wasn't coloured by my bipolar. Maybe that's a bit dysfunctional, I'm not sure. I really don't want it following me professionally, so I'm trying very hard not to disclose at school.

Comment