Arrhythmia from antidepressants

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Arrhythmia from antidepressants

Does anyone know what may have caused my swollen heart muscle (myocarditis) as I was withdrawing from antidepressants and antipsychotics?

I seem smart. I have a master's degree, worked as a writer, and even won first-place in a national writing competition, but I struggle with my memory now, which is vastly improved after a series of head injuries. I still have executive function difficulties and short-term memory problems following a series of concussions, but I'm trying to get back to where I was cognitively. My memory was so bad at one point that a neurologist told my psychiatrist to remove me from as much antidepressant and antipsychotic medication as possible. I was withdrawn from 70% of my medication.

The head injury seems to have left me with ADHD, which some new peer-reviewed research studies suggest is not genetic and doesn't result from problems with the central nervous system at key moments in development. This is how most ADHD comes about. I lost my hearing in one ear from my concussions, supposedly from nerve damage, but this has returned.

What's really interesting: After doctors reduced my psychiatric medication by 70% in the last year or so to deal with my huge memory problems, I was rushed to hospital with arrhythmia. I don't know if stress and my rebounding emotions (previously kept at bay by the medication I took) overloaded my body to cause the arrhythmia and a swollen heart muscle (myocarditis), or if the arrhythmia may have resulted from a new antidepressant I took (Trintellix), in addition to Trazodone and
    Fluvoxamine? Trintellix is one of the many types of psychiatric medications (antidepressants and antipsychotics) that causes long QT syndrome in some people. Doctors said they detected long QT syndrome in me when I was hospitalized with heart issues.