Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anxiety about Bipolar Medication

Hi:

Anyone else have anxiety about bipolar medication side effects. I tried lithium for a bit but quickly became hypothyroid- it resolved when I stopped. Now am considering Epival but I am afraid of the side effects (liver issues, pancreatic issues, weight gain....) I keep thinking I can do this without meds...but I can't keep my mood level on my own. Lately I have been drinking way too much as a way to deal with my moods and anxiety. Ugh....anyone relate????

Hello MooDee and welcome. I can relate to everything you have said having been there and done that several times (more than likely multiple times LOL). Finding what works for treatment for bipolar is usually a long and complicated process. Sometimes a person will get lucky and get the right meds right away. In my experience those people are few and far between for the rest of us it's a long slogging and miserable process.

I'm no doctor and I have no medical training so I'm just another person writing on the internet. Don't take what I have to say 100% , but research it your self and come to your own conclusions. I also mean no criticism to anyone about the regime they follow, that is their choice and it may work very well for them. My thoughts are as follows.

Bipolar can be a very serious illness and those of us with it tend to die much younger (8.5yrs) than those without and the effect of suicide doesn't affect those stats very much. source http://www.medpagetoday.com/psychiat...disorder/40524 . We tend to abuse our bodies at various stages of the illness, leading to the decrease in yrs lived and from my own experiences some of us with bipolar seem to suffer from a lot of other illness too.