Lack of insight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lack of insight

I never know how sick I am. I know that's common in bipolar. If it's bad I can tell that I'm sick, but it's only afterward once I've got some stability back that I understand how bad it was. If it's not so bad I often don't realise I'm sick at all. I've mentioned that I was manic in the fall. I knew that I was sick, but not how bad, and I wasn't honest with my psychiatrist about what was going on. I held it together as best I could for my appointments. I'm sure she could see that I was off, but I'm an expert at looking more okay than I am. Someone who cares very much and knows me well enough to see through my mask very nearly called 911 on me at one point, and she told me later how deeply she regretted not doing it. Looking back once my head cleared, I definitely would have admitted me.