ECT, my regrets and my long term negative impacts from ECT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ECT, my regrets and my long term negative impacts from ECT

I received ECT due to treatment- resistant depression. Now, I have serious memory loss and my brain function is limited- my life has been ruined by ECT and I'm not the same person I once was - is there anyone out there that can relate to me-- where it's only caused negative outcomes… Do you feel like family, friends don't understand how it feels and why everything is worse off today because of ECT- there aren't any support groups out there 4 this.
    Last edited by AJ; February 7, 2015, 10:53 AM. Reason: removed email address-risk of spam

I'm really not sure I'm even remotely qualified to even comment on this, but I sense there is a story that needs to be told here.

You have my sympathy in what appears to be a train wreck of a treatment, but I have no experience with ECT. I do have some experience with seizures as I have family members who are epileptic. I am told that each seizure "rewires" the brain to some extent and I must assume that becomes the theory behind ECT.

Would it help in that despite the lack of direct experience, we may share that sense of a lack of understanding and support among friends and family? I know that applies to me and happily, I can report that I am often proven wrong. I see a lot of anger at your loss of memory, and in an a sense, much of whom you formerly were. I don't know if I can help, but is there a chance that some memory may return with time? Your treatment was certainly traumatic, but you seem to have retained some sense of what has happened to you.