How to help my son

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to help my son

Hi, I am new to this. I have an adult son who lives with me and I know is very depressed. He has talked of ending his life. I am at a loss on where, what, how to even begin to help him. He also suffers from Anxiety, was diagnosed really young with OCD.

Hi Shiko,

Welcome. It's really tough as a parent to watch your child, including adult children, suffer. Two of my three kids, all young adults, suffer from serious mood disorders. Is he getting any treatment right now? How worried are you that he's currently considering suicide? If you're very worried, I'd talk to a health care pro who knows him, if he has one. If not, I'd consider taking him to your nearest ER if he'll agree.

Sorry for bombarding you with questions. Feel free not to answer them! I can't offer much help in terms of caring for a child with a mental illness, other than to say there are many of us in the same boat and, frankly, nobody has any perfect answers. There are lots of good websites and resources that give at least some guidance.

Comment

Hello and Welcome Shiko I have included a few links that may help. First a guide from MDAO on how to help someone with a mood disorder. https://mooddisorders.ca/guide/guide...-mood-disorder The next one is a list of support groups in B.C. Peer support groups can be a life saver as those of us with a mental illness can talk with people who have recovered as well as those who are still struggling. I credit peer support groups for at least 50% of my recovery. http://www.mdabc.net/mdabc-peer-support-groups and the 3rd link is a list of therapist who deal with OCD https://counsellingbc.com/counsellor...e-disorder-145 .

I don't know if he has a psychiatrist or not, but it would probably be better if he did. Take Care. paul m
      "Alone we can do so little;
      Together we can do so much"
      Helen Keller

Comment

Hi Shiko and welcome to the forum.
        AJ